Start Pedaling

I remember when my Dad first took off my training wheels.  Our driveway seemed like Everest and danger was just waiting for me on the asphalt.  Like most Dads do, he encouraged me, pushed me until I had my confidence up, and then… I fell… multiple times. I was a walking skinned-knee.

I don’t remember the repeated falls but I do remember finding my balance through pedaling.  “Keep pedaling” my Dad would say, but as a 5 yr old knows, it’s hard to concentrate on pedaling when you’re trying to balance.

Twenty One years later, I’m not sure I’ve learned a whole lot.  I had an idea to start a blog, but I’m so focused on my fear of failure that I cant seem to get momentum.

What if people don’t like my blog?   What if don’t like it?
I don’t have much good content anyway. Do people even want to read what I have to write?

Now, I know that I’m not going to end up a walking band-aid, what’s the worst that can happen?  I fail?  That’s going to happen anyway.  It’s time to move past that.  I hope content will flow as easily for me as riding a bike does now.  Left, right, left, right,  This blog is going to be pedaled into existence and balance. A continuation of movement in a forward direction.  The central theme will revolve around mostly my own reflections, reflections of others, the joys of life, life’s questions, and our own questions,  with a cycling spinal cord.

Ok.  I’m obsessed with cycling.

Phew, I said it.  Since returning from Afghanistan in July 2013, cycling has become an absolute integral part of who I am.  I never thought of myself as a cyclist before.  I had a bike as a kid, so did you.  But things have changed.  I have become obsessed.  My bike is not only where I think and how I get around, it is both the cause and effect of my identity.

More on all of that later, that was just an introductory note on myself.

Start Pedaling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Start Pedaling

  1. Mackonya says:

    My brother, your joy will be full. keep it up. I hope to join you one day in one of your rides. May God bless you.

    Like

  2. Mary Foresman says:

    Mark I totally agree. Cycling allows my brain to relax and wander. It relaxes me. The other day I came up on a dead raccoon on the shoulder and if it weren’t for the scavenger birds on it I don’t know if I would have seen it. I was out there.

    Like

  3. Katie Jo says:

    I love cycling! I may not be as hardcore as you seem to be with it ,but I will be riding in my first half century in May 🙂 keep on pedaling man !

    Like

  4. Bobbie says:

    Mark – you’ve captured the essence of what all of us are thinking and feeling, but are too afraid to admit.

    Your post is imaginative, fresh and unforgiving – exactly what we all need in our own over-stimulated lives..

    I pray you pedal. But not just along. I pray you pedal with deliberate, forward momentum, a new force to be reckoned with and that your heart and mind will be blown away through the experience that God has waiting for you.

    You’ll touch hearts, change lives and mold our generation forever – you already have.

    Please – Hurry up with the next post!

    Like

  5. Ed says:

    Houston, we have lift off! Great start! I’m looking forward to what is ahead. Soon you’ll be typing faster than you peddle and without fear of scraped knees but maybe carpal tunnel.

    Like

  6. Jeff says:

    Good start my friend, I look forward to reading your blog and checking out your new bike when you get it!!!!

    Like

  7. Chris Holcomb says:

    Mark thats a great start. You always seem to have something intresting to talk about lol. I think a blog will be a great fit. Look forward to reading more as it comes.

    Have a good one,
    Chris

    Like

  8. Zach Ashton says:

    What an interesting introduction brother, it makes me want to start cycling . This is most definitely a Foresman blog you college ed . Keep posting man and I will keep reading, looking forward to the next!

    Like

  9. Janice Smullen says:

    Thanks for the notice! Looks like you have good friends and family to cheer you on the down hills and pick you up if you hit a pot hole! Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

